New to Artichokes?

One of my favorite food websites Recipe4Living has 14 terrific artichoke recipes. I happen to love artichokes and I know many people don’t know anything about them.  I first experienced them in Woodstock, NY at my friend’s house behind his farm stand called Sun Frost.

The artichoke was simply prepared.  It was simmered until soft, drained and cooled. Then we had a choice of bottled salad dressing or homemade butter with bread crumbs for dipping. I pulled a leaf out of the body, dipped the bottom of the leaf into a little ranch dressing and slid it over my bottom teeth removing the meat and deposited the leaf on a plate. I did it again and again until I got to the artichoke body. I removed the bottom hairs and dipped the body and plopped it into my mouth. It was delicious and new.  I had discovered a new and exciting vegetable that I had seen for years at the market.

Here is a similar simple recipe or you could try dipping it the way I just described.

Artichoke with Caviar

Ingredients:  2 or 3 artichokes, ½ cup sour cream, red salmon caviar, snipped fresh chives or chopped fresh Italian/flat leaf parsley.

Wash the artichokes thoroughly and remove/trim tough outer leaves.

Put the artichokes in a saucepan in about an inch of water and boil. Reduce heat and simmer for around 45 minutes or until tender. Remove them, drain them and let them cool.

Peel the leaves from the artichoke and position on a plate. Dip or plop the meaty part of the leaf into a little red caviar eggs, spoon on a little sour cream and garnish with parsley or chives. 

I mentioned that Recipe4Living has some terrific artichoke recipes, right? Here is their link to them.

http://www.recipe4living.com/articles/14_flavorful_artichoke_recipes_for_spring.htm

About thegourmetcritic
Scratch cook and baker.

Leave a comment