Bird’s Isle Restaurant and Bar, Belize City

Image

I’ve used the same taxi drive a couple of times. He told me about a restaurant called Island. He showed me where it was and since it was only a short walk from my hotel to day was the day I decided to check it out.  As I walked up to the restaurant I saw a lady leaving and following her was a tall man.

I was surprised by the couple. It was the man and wife that I chatted and sat next to the other day in Placencia’s RumFish restaurant. We never exchanged names. This was the couple that has truly traveled the world making me feel jealous. Ha. It was the wife that had explained that some cultures serve both rice AND potatoes for their dish because that way everyone would get what they want. I personally don’t think I will practice that.

So, I shook hands with the man and he said, “You’ll love it today. It’s completely empty.”

I replied, “Fabulo. I love it empty. It’s the best service.”  And, they got into their taxi and drove off. I went inside.

BAM. I laughed because the place was jammed packed full. The gentleman from Canada got me and he knew it. Ha.

The Island is situated right on the ocean. It’s a wonderful place to sit for a meal and a few Billiken beers.  I ordered a snapper fillet – grilled. The waitress and I talked and yes, they served real mashed potatoes not fake ones from a box.

It was pretty good. The fish was topped with sautéed onions and green peppers. It came with three small scoops of mashed potatoes and a salad all on the same plate. I looked around and the restaurant is a comfort food kind of restaurant. There is chicken and chops and steaks on the menu. It’s a nice varied menu with an assortment of cocktails and beer.

Image

The Island is located on Bird’s Isle at the end of Albert Street. You can’t miss it. If you do, you’d have to be in the ocean water.

For exceptional imported Italian olive oil and balsamic vinegar:

www.saporedellavitta.com

 

 

 

About thegourmetcritic
Scratch cook and baker.

Leave a comment